Keys to Position Yourself to Become Fire Chief (The Series)

Public Speakingdsc_1439

Most people express that they have a fear of speaking in public. In order to gain that experience I had to reflect on what my fears were about public speaking and how I could overcome them. The first thing I did was to consider if I had something worthwhile to say. I knew my subject because I had many years of content that I had gathered through my experiences and classroom learning about my subject.

Secondly, I had a passion about my subject. I knew the need for my point of view was extremely important and the audience needed to hear what I had to say. I believed that I could help save lives through my ability to educate people on how they could prevent fires from occurring in their lives by practicing basic fire prevention techniques. Because the Fire Service is a very significant part of local government spending, I was confident we could influence our neighbors, who we may share space with, to also practice fire safe behaviors to reduce the potential for fire loss/fire deaths.

Thirdly, I was willing to practice not only in the mirror and on video taped practice sessions but to take every opportunity to speak in front of others. Vince Lombardi the Hall of Famed and Legendary Football Coach said, “Practice does not make perfect. Only perfect practice makes perfect.” His teachings and penchant for perfect practice can be applied to your quest to be a better public speaker.

 

 

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Advice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment