My Career in Review

I have not posted in about two years. Much has occurred since then and I have been pretty pleased with my Fire Service career. I also ran my company for a year (Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants) after leaving Prince George’s County Government and was appointed by Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley as a State Fire Prevention Commissioner. I even found time to volunteer as the Executive Director of the “Alliance” which had as its aim to give services to volunteer companies of PGFD. I faced many challenges during the tenure of my career of thirty years and yet I have nothing but the fondest memories. I was honored to work in two different Fire Departments and spent some time leading both as the Chief Fire Official.

I realize no one can know how proud my family and I are of how hard we worked to reach my dreams but I wanted to document a career spanning over thirty years for when my children want to look back or those who had a hand in my success wanted to reminisce. The two photos are of me as Interim Chief of the District of Columbia Fire and Emergency Medical Services Department and the Prince George’s County Fire and Emergency Medical Services Department. I truly enjoyed leading these great organizations with highly trained and dedicated men and women who served with distinction. I will highlight each position I held in successive stories. I thank my family most of all for their loving support of me as I worked many hours with no vacations and almost no time off. I loved working for the men and women of the two Departments and serving the citizens of the two jurisdictions.

image image

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Advice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

