Managing Emergencies – The Tragedy of Neglecting Prevention Activities

When I was an active responder I would arrive on the scene and deal with fires large and small. The most heart breaking part of the event is how people began coping with the losses they faced.  They were overwhelmed with grief because they understood the event could have been prevented. People were surprised at how quickly the situation escalated out of control. Everyone expressed gratitude for the response team’s quick intervention and were thankful that our actions kept things from being worse.

I felt inadequate because I wish I could have gotten there sooner or wondered how I could have helped them prevent the situation in the first place.  I have devoted many years of my life to prevention activities because I would prefer to teach people how to stop disasters and emergencies from taking place and how to lessen the effects. Sure I enjoyed responding to emergencies, helping people during some of the worse moments in their life. As a Fire Inspector in the Prevention Bureau  very effective in keeping the fire losses low in our jurisdiction.  As an official in the emergency management office we focused on educating the community on how to protect themselves.  People’s pain moved me into action. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants and this blog, “manageingemergencies” to continue my efforts to prevent horrible events.

I appreciate people stopping by my sites to get tips on how to make their life disaster resistant and how to be resilient when emergencies occur. I know that information is power and people can avoid emergencies through prevention.

If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees checkout my website http://www.ejones224.moonfruit.com/ and contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com.

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Advice, Emergencies, Opinion, Warnings, Work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

