Rate Your Preparedness Program

Assuming you have a “Preparedness Program” rate how well you are doing in building your business’ preparedness posture.

  • I have a written plan that lets my staff know how to deal with disasters and emergencies.
  • I have monthly discussions reminding my staff on various aspects of our disaster and emergency plan.
  • We practice various aspects of our disaster and emergency plan at least twice a year.
  • We practice our fire escape plan at least bi-monthly.
  • We collect data (Incident Reports) after every incident to check what went right and what went wrong and we conclude what improvements we need to make.
  • We have back-up facilities we can use if our facility has a problem.
  • We have insurance that meets our needs and we review our insurance profile yearly to make sure we are protecting against risks.
  • Managers walk through our facilities everyday to deal with hazards to make sure preventable accidents and emergencies are prevented.
  • We collect data on preventable issues we find when our managers conduct their walk through so we can improve our preparedness program.
  • We make sure our exits are not blocked everyday and the aisles are clear so our staff and clients have access to exits.
  • We have prepared a hazard and risk assessment document that we refer to which allows us to make sure we deal with pertinent issues to protect our staff and the clients that use our facilities and services.
  • We make sure our suppliers have emergency plans so we can count on them when disruptions in our supply chain occur.

These are just a few of the issues you need to consider if you want your organization to be ready for disasters and emergencies.

If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees checkout my website http://www.ejones224.moonfruit.com/ and contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com.

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Emergencies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

