Planning and Preparedness for the Car

I recently went to Pennsylvania to watch my son play football.  It rained while I was there and my shoes and socks got wet and it was cold.  I went to my trunk to see if the preparedness plans that I put in place in my life actually work when I need them to.  And yes, there was an extra pair of shoes and a sweater.  I felt proud of that little victory.  Planning for emergencies can be simple if you break emergency planning into little steps.  Your car can be an excellent getaway in a storm or when the power goes out in your area.  You have a battery (you can get accessories to tap into its power), you have a radio and access to the emergency alert system.  You can adjust the temperature.  You can recline to rest and you can leave the affected area.

You can go get some food and you can store some snacks for those unexpected events.  Just make a list or go online to find a car emergency kit that can suit your needs.  Don’t throw those worn shoes away.  Keep a pair for the rainy day when you want to switch out of the pair you have on.  Keep a backpack in the car (I have a small storage container). It gets raided often when my kids check it out but I just get it replenished (when I get around to it).  Being prepared will give you a sense of pride (provided you have the right thing when you need it). You can always pat yourself on the back and tell yourself how smart you are.  Every little encouragement helps in this day and time.  Here a list of things you may want to have in your car kit.

One gallon of water for one day used for sanitation and drinking. Flash light, Moist hand wipes, Soap, Hand sanitizer, Fire Extinguisher, Paper and pencils, pens, and some small tools.

The clothes must match the season. If you live in a cold weather climate, think about warmth. A sleeping bag or blanket for each person. If you evacuated in the rain plastic rain gear can be used.

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Advice, Emergencies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

