Children Get Locked In Cars – Children get away from us – Developing A Strategy to Avoid Injuring or losing Them

 

There are few events in our life that can devastate us more than locking our children in our cars and leaving them accidentally.  We read many stories about children who lose their life or are seriously injured as a result of being locked in cars and being left unattended.  I once locked my children in the car when I tried to get someone’s attention.  I instinctively locked the door when I got out of the car but forgot to take my key.  Fortunately, I was able to tell my child how to open the door.  It took about five minutes to explain it to her but it seemed like an hour due to the weather.

Develop a ritual that you do whether your child is in the car or not. Rituals become habits and habits are highly effective.  Many successful people use rituals, especially sports professionals to make sure they take effective actions.  It may seem silly at first or feel unusual but it can be effective.  We live busy lives and our attention gets diverted to the many issues we face each day. Whether in a car or in the store our children can slip our minds and get away from us and it only takes a second.  Children constantly want to explore their world as we take them out into it.

I see moms struggling with their children all the time.  I see children walking away from their homes while they play and then they dart out into the street in a few seconds.  Developing rituals and strategies to keep our children safe is a worthy time investment.  The time we spend worrying and terrified when the missing child event occurs can be avoided.

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Advice, Emergencies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

