Don’t Laugh – Washing Your Hands Can Mean the Difference Between Life and Death

Handwashing is vital in the fight against disease.  Diseases can be inhaled, sexually transmitted or can be contracted through touching surfaces.  Today we will focus on protecting ourselves through hand washing.  When my children were young I noticed that they got sick more often than they should have.  My children were home schooled until they went to high school.  I thought to myself, if I am the only one going out of the house everyday then I must be the source of transmission.  So I made it a practice to wash my hands immediately upon entering the house.

Over the months and years my children’s illnesses declined dramatically.  I still continue to wash my hands immediately upon entering the house to this day even if I just get in the car to pick someone up.  We do not realize how many surfaces we touch each day. Some germs and bacteria can live on surfaces from hours to days.  We touch our faces and put our hands in, near or around our mouths and eyes many times a day.

Work to reduce you and your family’s  exposure to illnesses by having a hand washing routine.

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Advice, Emergencies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Don’t Laugh – Washing Your Hands Can Mean the Difference Between Life and Death

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    Great advice. Now will you tell people that not flossing will kill them? Most don’t know it.

  2. wartica says:

    I agree; with all those toxins that come our way, we have to do our part to cleanse, but with the most natural of soaps:)

    jonwatersauthor.com

  3. I have always been a bit O.C.D. about my hygiene. I think it has been a good thing but lately I have been trying to tone it down a bit. After reading this I decided to revert to my old ways haha!

  4. very true, thanks for sharing the info.

  5. luggagelady says:

    So true indeed! As a flight attendant, my hands may be dry and crackly — but, hey, they’re CLEAN!! HA HA :))

Leave a Reply

