US Ambassador and Others Driven Out of Safe Room Due to Smoke

The United States Government sets the tone for safety requirements in buildings. It is a surprise to me that government officials died in a fire and the toxic effects of smoke.  Did the building have a smoke removal system.  Was the building equipped with an automatic sprinkler system?  Fire is an emergency that I would think would be the last thing government workers would have to worry about in the embassies.  Yes, it is was reported that grenades were used in the attack and I wasn’t there so I wouldn’t know if the systems, if they existed, were impacted by the explosions.  I am going by sketchy reports from CNN that there was a safe room and the safe room became untenable.

I can only hope that the systems were in place and those systems were disabled as a result of the explosions.  If the systems were not in place, the government needs to give the employees in the embassies the best fire protection equipment there is due to the hazardous environments they are exposed to. A hazard and risk analysis would have identified that a safe room would be threatened by smoke without a smoke removal system. What good is a safe room that can be threatened by smoke?

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Commentary, News, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

