How Vulnerable We Really Are. (Flooding)

As you search for answers on how to prepare yourself for disasters and emergencies think hard about the scenarios you may face.  We all go about our day with varying levels of thought toward the weather.  We get on elevators and talk about the weather. But how much do we really think about the the warnings that are given during the forecasts.  Severe storm warnings and flash flood warnings are important issues to focus on.  This means that you have to also be aware of the area you live in or are traveling through.  How many times do you hear about or see people trapped in their car as they attempt to drive through standing water? You see boy scouts trapped in remote areas by flood waters. You see people trapped on their roof because of flood waters.

And where are the emergency supplies we gathered before the big storm when the flood waters rise?  Below the flood waters.  Having knowledge of the floodplain is very important.  Find out if you work, live in or near a flood plain and plan accordingly.  The government (rightly so) tells us to plan to be on our own for three days when the big one hits.  So in the case of flooding three days of supplies will do no good if you are in or near the flood plain.  Take your supplies to higher ground.

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Emergencies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How Vulnerable We Really Are. (Flooding)

  1. iPhone says:

    When I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the identical comment. Is there any approach you may remove me from that service? Thanks!
    iPhone

  2. Rim says:

    If I were to pick my article of the year, it would be yours. Is there an award for that? Anyway, I enjoy reading your kind of writing. You��re interesting and intelligent. Thanks for sharing.
    Rim

  3. Thanks, I am not sure about the RSS issue.

  4. Thanks, I hope to help people be prepared for all emergencies.

  5. I appreciate you checking this information out. I wanted to give people something practical to do when confronted with this threat.

Leave a Reply

