Day (271) – Raise Your Standard

This blog post showed me the missing element in my quest to be the best and produce effective results for myself. The concept of “competing against what I am capable of” is a revelation to me. I list my capabilities. I learn new things to enhance my capabilities and I test myself to ensure that I am truly capable. This is an area I will explore. My standards are high and I have found that they have set me apart. I have made the sacrifices and have done most of what this post suggests. I was looking to go to the next level and I think I have found the missing element.

The Better Man Project ™

Raise your standard for what you expect out of life. A long time ago, Michael Jordan was in the club house right before his last game ever played, and someone asked him, “Michael, what really sets you apart from everyone else? What makes you great? Is it your talent, your skill, your work ethic? What is it?” Michael looked at him and said ,”I do have talent, I have skill, but its my standards that set me apart. Every day I demand more from myself than anyone else could humanly expect. I am not competing with myself, I am competing with what I am capable of.”

Standards are what will set you apart from others. Whether that is the standards you hold as a friend, as a lover, as a person in general…that is what is going to make you or break you. I find it incredibly interesting what he…

View original post 384 more words

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Emergencies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day (271) – Raise Your Standard

  1. Darby says:

    Your style is very unique compared to other folks
    I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this blog.

Leave a Reply

