Your Safety

Much is made about organizations and the need for them to invest in worker safety.  As a former fire fighter I realized very early on that my safety was paramount to one person on the planet and that person was me.  To expect someone to be devoted to your safety is hard for me to imagine.  Self preservation is the strongest urge that exists so why not apply that mentality to making your work environment safe?  Why look around for someone else to do it?

You may ask where should I begin to address my safety needs?  Start with your gut and move to educating yourself.  If something doesn’t feel right start asking questions.  Let management know what your concerns are.  If you don’t feel comfortable with that and you live in an OSHA state contact the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and let them know your concerns.  OSHA has a website that makes it easy to understand what your rights are as a worker.

Know your job and know how to operate safely.  If others are not working safely around you and it affects your safety then let them know you don’t appreciate that.  It is better to have six people on the job that don’t like you then to have six people carrying you to your grave site.  Don’t look around when you get seriously injured on the job when you haven’t done your part to protect yourself.  In fact don’t wait to examine yourself after an injury.  Step up and hold yourself accountable today.  You’ll thank yourself in the future.

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Advice, Commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

