Walk Don’t Run To The Nearest Exit

You’ve heard it before, “In case of an emergency walk don’t run to the nearest exit.”  Study after study indicate that this is hardly the problem in times of trouble.  People just don’t want to leave when the alarm sounds.  As a fire service professional I have witnessed on numerous occasions people failing to leave the building and the staff of the facility are not engaged in the process of evacuation.  The recent cruise ship disasters show that staff are nowhere to be found when emergencies occur and people become trapped.

This is in large part due to the lack of awareness among building owners and operators that people must be trained and reminded to get out safely.  The motion picture industry and large entertainment arenas and the airlines have improved their ability to get the word to their patrons on how to evacuate the facility in case of an emergency.  Large department stores, hotels, malls, gyms and similar structures have paid little attention to educating their patrons and employees on how to get out when the warning alarm sounds.

Training employees to take charge and move people along safely can help avoid tragedies in your facilities.  The tragic events of 911 revealed just how little people know about evacuation and yet during that tragedy there were shining examples of how planning and preparedness can make a difference.

Don’t let your facility become the next big story. Train your employees on the process of evacuation and assist them to help your customers and clients get safely to their next destination.

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Emergencies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Walk Don’t Run To The Nearest Exit

  1. Thanks for the compliment. I appreciate you stopping by.

  2. article says:

    Hello there I am so delighted I found your site, I really found you by error, while I was
    researching on Yahoo for something else,
    Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers
    for a incredible post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

  3. An fascinating dialogue is worth comment. I feel that you should write extra on this matter, it won’t be a taboo subject however usually persons are not sufficient to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  4. poker bets uk says:

    Just wanna remark on couple of common things, The web site style is perfect, the topic matter is rattling excellent

  5. Spot on with this write-up, I truly assume this site wants significantly more consideration. in all probability be once more to read way extra, thanks for that information.

Leave a Reply

