Starting A Daycare – Where to Begin?

I know what you are thinking, “I love children and I know how to care for them” what more do I need to know?  There is no doubt you are capable, God himself entrusts you with the ability as evidenced by your ability to create them.  But have you thought about the environment you are going to care for these children in?  Have you prepared for the events that can happen in your community that may interrupt or challenge your care?  If you had to evacuate your home or facility can you remove all the children in your care to safety?

Planning for the impact of disasters and emergencies is a part of the process of your providing care.  Your care has three phases – before, during and after an event.  Emergency plans are required by the jurisdiction you live or work in.  The plan you need can be simple or elaborate depending on the size of the community you are creating.  That’s right you are creating a community of people with special needs.  Those needs can overwhelm you during an emergency. During an emergency is not the time to think about what to do.

Before you take the step to opening your day care consider your need for a consultant to assist you in your planning effort.  The cost of planning is small compared to the costs of recovering from an unplanned for emergency.  A consultant can help you think about all the possibilities or even the probabilities of disasters and emergencies that can impact your community. Begin with a plan to ensure your care can withstand a hurricane. Checkout my social media sites to learn more about me and my company.

About managingemergencies

I am a professional consultant with 30 years of experience in managing emergencies. My background and skills gave me the foundation to start Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants. If you need preparedness training or would like to have a preparedness discussion for your employees contact me via email at sysmanemerconsult@aol.com. I held various positions in the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department until I retired in 2007. As a emergency planner and trainer in the Prince George's County Office of Homeland Security I planned exercises and training for government agencies and citizens groups. I was appointed Fire Chief of the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 2009. I started Systems Emergency Preparedness Consultants in June of that year. I had the opportunity to become the Assistant Fire Chief - Operations of the District of Columbia Fire/EMS Department and served for a year as the Interim Fire Chief. I am a trained mediator, mediator team leader and trainer. I also served as the Fire/EMS Department Equal Employment Opportunity Officer.
This entry was posted in Emergencies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

